Agile alloy development:
Unlimited possibilities of material combinations and process parameters

pontiMAT® is the perfect technology for the development of innovative materials, for example for Additive Manufacturing. The system is unique in that it can be used to produce specimens of hundreds of alloy variants per day – including testing of their specific properties. Thus, the system dramatically reduces the development effort compared to conventional sample melting and analysis methods.

pontiMAT® provides the flexibility to combine a virtually unlimited variety of elements into high-performance alloys. Thanks to the pE3D system employed, solidification rates can be specifically set within a temperature range from 100 K/s to 10 million K/s. Consequently, the microstructural features of the metallic specimens can be influenced within an unprecedented wide scope.

pontiMAT® in detail

In addition to the individualized, industrial production of metallic components, the 3D EHLA process enables the development and processing of new types of alloy systems. Thanks to the nozzle-based powder feed, existing alloy systems and elements can be processed with little effort in any composition to form dense test specimens. The development effort is drastically reduced when using the presented workflow, as numerous test specimens in a wide range of chemical compositions are produced within a few hours. Development cycles for novel materials are thus significantly shortened, as melts no longer have to be generated and analyzed on the conventional development route on a laboratory scale.

Workflow of pontiMAT® Technology for Rapid Alloy Development

In addition to the chemical composition of the processed material system, the microstructure resulting in the component depends significantly on the cooling rate in the process. Due to the highly dynamic kinematics, users of the pE3D system benefit from selectively adjustable cooling rates as part of the pontiMAT® technology. Thus, for the first time, the microstructure created during solidification can be actively influenced by means of the 3D EHLA process.

The wide range of adjustable cooling rates enables the emulation of solidification conditions as they prevail in LPBF or conventional DED processes. The pontiMAT® technology is therefore ideally suited for the agile screening of novel alloy systems, the validation of simulatively determined material properties, and the processing of high entropy alloys and amorphous metals.

“Even today, components are increasingly being designed and optimized with a view to their suitability for Additive Manufacturing. Compared to this, even greater functionality enhancement can be expected from the optimization of the materials used in AM. Therefore, our customers can achieve some 50 percent performance improvement from their products - not just five or ten percent – when they use our pontiMAT system in the development of new, application-specific AM alloys.”

Tobias Stittgen, Managing Director of ponticon GmbH
Cooling Rates of Additive Manufacturing Processes

Agile Legierungsentwicklung:
maximale Flexibilität bei Werkstoff-Mix und Prozessparametern

pontiMAT ist die ideale Technologie für die Entwicklung neuartiger Werkstoffe, zum Beispiel für die Additive Fertigung. Das Verfahren macht es erstmals möglich, pro Tag Hunderte Legierungsvarianten zu verarbeiten und anschließend deren Eigenschaften zu erproben. So reduziert es den Entwicklungsaufwand im Vergleich mit den bisher üblichen schmelzmetallurgischen Methoden drastisch.

pontiMAT® bietet zum einen nahezu grenzenlose Flexibilität bei der Mischung unterschiedlicher Legierungskomponenten. Zum anderen realisiert das für das Verfahren eingesetzte pE3D System im Erstarrungsprozess Abkühlraten zwischen 100 K/s und 10 Millionen K/s. So kann das Gefüge in bisher ungekannt weiten Grenzen beeinflusst werden.

pontiMAT® im Detail

Neben der individualisierten, industriellen Fertigung metallischer Bauteile befähigt das 3D-EHLA-Verfahren insbesondere zur Entwicklung und Verarbeitung neuartiger Legierungssysteme. Durch die düsenbasierte Pulverzufuhr können bestehende Legierungssysteme und Elemente aufwandsarm in beliebigen Zusammensetzungen zu porenfreien, metallischen Gefügen verarbeitet und anschließend analysiert werden. Der Entwicklungsaufwand wird bei Anwendung des dargestellten Workflows drastisch reduziert, da zahlreiche Probekörper in verschiedensten chemischen Zusammensetzungen  innerhalb von wenigen Stunden erzeugt werden. Entwicklungszyklen für neuartige Werkstoffe werden demnach signifikant verkürzt, da Schmelzen nicht mehr auf der konventionellen Entwicklungsroute im Labormaßstab erzeugt und analysiert werden müssen.

Workflow der pontiMAT® Technologie zur agilen Legierungsentwicklung

Die im Bauteil resultierende Mikrostruktur hängt neben der chemischen Zusammensetzung des verarbeiteten Werkstoffsystems signifikant von der Abkühlrate im Prozess ab. Aufgrund der hohen Dynamik profitieren Anwender des pE3D-Systems im Rahmen der pontiMAT® Technolgie von gezielt einstellbaren Abkühlraten. Somit kann das bei der Erstarrung entstehende Gefüge mittels des 3D-EHLA-Verfahrens erstmalig aktiv beeinflusst werden.

Die große Bandbreite einstellbarer Abkühlraten ermöglicht die Emulation von Erstarrungsbedingungen wie sie etwa im LPBF- oder den konventionellen DED-Verfahren vorzufinden sind. Die pontiMAT® Technologie ist demnach für das agile Screening neuartiger Legierungssysteme, die Validierung von simulativ bestimmten Werkstoffeigenschaften sowie die Verarbeitung von High Entropy Alloys und amorphen Metallen hervorragend geeignet.

„Von der Konstruktion her sind viele Bauteile schon heute für die Additive Fertigung optimiert. Ein deutlich größeres Potenzial bei der Verbesserung der Funktionalität steckt jedoch im Werkstoff. Wenn unsere Kunden mit pontiMAT bei geringem Aufwand eine neue, AM-spezifische Legierung entwickeln, holen sie nicht fünf oder zehn Prozent heraus, sondern eher um 50 Prozent verbesserte Einsatzeigenschaften.“

Tobias Stittgen, Geschäftsführer der ponticon GmbH
Abkühlraten verschiedener Verfahren der Additiven Fertigung